Crushes Then and Now (Ladies Edition)

Still swooning over your favorite then and now hotties? Well, the feast ain’t over yet!

Give it up for your favorite Crushes of Then and Now – Ladies Edition!

*****

The Shake Senora Crush

Winona Ryder

Everyone’s favorite ghoulish girlcrush! The Beetlejuice star who became the 90’s It Girl with films like Edward Scissorhands, Reality Bites, and The Crucible! All I can say is, “I saw Goody Ryder with the Devil…and she looked gooood.”

The Fresh Princess of Bel-Air Crush

Tatyana Ali

Will Smith’s younger, adorable cousin, Ashley Banks, on The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. Ashley was the naive, well-behaved youngest Banks child. She looked up to her street smart, fun-loving cousin, Will, and the dynamic made us all fall in love.

The Full House Crush

Candace Cameron

Ah, DJ Tanner from Full House – the slightly bossy, but incredibly smart eldest Tanner daughter. Your wholesome, girl next door crush, that is if you can deal with her obnoxious best friend, Kimmy Gibler!

The Immaculate Crush-action

Madonna

If you can handle this Material Girl, then life could be a Holiday. Remember to Express Yourself and she’ll Cherish you forever!

The Holy Hot Jackson Sister Crush

Janet Jackson

Watch the music video for her hit Again and tell me you’re not in love.

The Mannequin in the City Crush

Kim Cattrall

If you could make your dream girl out of a Mannequin, would you?

The I’d Let You Know All My Secrets Crush

Teri Hatcher

As reporter Lois Lane on Lois and Clark, Teri Hatcher gave us a taste of forbidden romance. Add to her resume the roll of a Bond girl, and we’re Desperate for more!

The Sweet Sixteen Crush

Molly Ringwald

The original Brat Pack Girl. Molly Ringwald was the voice of a generation in the cult classics Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, and Pretty in Pink. Admit it, you’d have paid to see her underwear!

The Will You Go Steady With Me? Crush

Tiffani Thiessen

The Saved by the Bell homegirl, Kelly Kapowski. What would you have done to get your locker next to hers?

The Dreamweaver Crush

Tia Carrere

Camera One. Camera Two. Camera One. Camera Two. Doesn’t matter how we look, Tia, you’re gorgeous! Blame it on a Ballroom Blitz! Schwing!

The Summer Lovin’ Crush

Olivia Newton John

Which song would you pick to be your song? A.) “Let’s get PHYSICAL! PHYSICAL!” or B.) “I got chills! They’re multiplying!” Olivia Newton John is electrifying!

The Animated Crush

Marge Simpson

That girlish figure. That grovelly voice. Need I say anymore?

The Barbarella Crush

Jane Fonda

Barbarella is a “5-star, double rated, astro-navigatrix earth girl whose specialty is LOVE!”

That was a quote from the movie trailer. When I finish interpreting it, I’ll tell you why Jane Fonda is your favorite foxy crush!

See Barbarella “do her thing.”

*****

Did your crush make the cut? Share your hotties (and notties) of then and now!

31 responses

  1. Love the feeling of nostalgia. And, though Kelly Kapowski was the bane of my pre-teen years, (didn’t know a boy who didn’t want her or a girl who didn’t want to be her), I was more of a Winona Ryder fan. Loved her unique look and loveable quirkiness. Mathair’s trying to steal the computer away and will literally kill me if I don’t add her lady-crush of then and now, Michelle Pfeiffer. My addition would be her The Witches of Eastwick costar, no not Cher, though she was my favorite character in the movie, but Susan Sarandon. Great post, Jess. Have a great Labor Day!

    1. Wait…why not Cher?

      WHY NOT CHER?!!

      1. LOL. I thought we were only allowed one lady-crush!! Oh no!! I didn’t show my Cher love!! Must dress in fishnets, leotard and an 80’s wig and dance around my room singing “If I Could Turn Back Time.”

        1. Please do! I LOVE Cher! Mermaids might be one of my favorite movies. And have you seen her in Burlesque? I’d kill for her legs!

  2. Winona Ryder is definitely a hottie! A little weird, but hey, what can you do?

    1. Well she’s in too many great films! And she continues to look gorgeous! I will always love her.

  3. We would’ve had a blast watching TV together growing up, Jess! I see a bunch familiar faces here. 🙂 My biggest girl crush “then” was probably Oprah—”now,” Adele. *swoon*

    1. Ooh good one. Check out Serena Ryder! She’s my current music girl crush. Killer voice! And you know how I found her? In Oprah’s magazine. 🙂

  4. So I’m guessing the girl crush is a wannabe thing, which I can totally to with Olivia Newton-John. My favorite Brat Packer was Ally Sheedy (also loved her in the more recent PSYCH episodes). And I grew up wishing I could look like Lynda Carter in WONDER WOMAN. But really, my fave is another old-movie classic…hello, Audrey Hepburn. 🙂

    1. You’ll be pleased to know that I was already scolded once for leaving Ally Sheedy out. Sorry I’m biased towards redheads.

      And Audrey Hepburn is more than a crush. She’s timeless.

  5. Had a huge crush on a boy in college who was in LOVE with Gwen Stefani in her early No Doubt years. I was and still am the antithesis of Gwen, so sadly I was never his type. 😦 But yeah, she was an adorable punk girl then and is still gorgeous now. Bitch. 😉

    1. Yah Joe recommended Gwen too. I also think Pink is punktastic. And whether she fits in this category or not -Julia Stiles circa 10 Things I Hate About You.

    2. So it just occurred to me that I owe you an apology. With how fabulous our friendship is, HOW could I have forgot to put Bridget Fonda or Kyra Sedgewick on this list? Or Scott Campbell or Matt Dillon for that matter on the guys edition? WHAT WAS I THINKING?!

      1. I really don’t know WHAT you were thinking. Obviously, you don’t really love me.

        And while you’re at it . . . Ethan Hawke & Pheobe Cates?

        Please don’t show me Janeane Garofalo. I know how that turned out. Nobody needs to see that.

        1. Well if Phoebe Cates gets on the list, then we should also add Jennifer Jason Leigh and Julie Delpy.

          OMG OMG OMG – Did you see they made another Before Sunrise movie? With Ethan and Julie?! *squeeeee*

  6. Hmm. Well, I don’t have girl crushes, but my daughter-in-law reminds me a bit of Winona Ryder. They are both so gorgeous!

    1. Ooh lala sounds like it!

  7. That was cool Jess! Those women are holding up very well. And Jane Fonda. Hello! I don’t care who her plastic surgeon is. She’s got great bone structure to work with to begin with. She looks amazing. Thanks for the memories! 🙂

    1. Yah Jane Fonda is in my honey’s Top 5 of all Time!

  8. Alicia Silverstone. The crush began with Aerosmith’s videos and continued (sadly, unrequited) through movies like The Crush (damn appropriate title, given the nature of your blog post) and, of course, Clueless. Alyssa Milano, too. When she was on Charmed, I was bewitched. It was as though she cast a spell on me. A lust spell! And briefly, Drew Barrymore in her Poison Ivy days. Mmmrrowww.

    1. Lol. All excellent crushes! I would add Liv Tyler too!

  9. I think I may have gone with Jessica Rabbit or Betty Boop v. Marge Simpson, especially if we’re talking “figures”. 😉

    Gabrielle Anwar would probably be my choice for “Princess Badass”…I mean, she played a princess in Three Musketeers, but look at her now…on Burn Notice. Ooh la la!

    Kate Bekinsale would be my Hot Vampire chick…for obvious reason.

    Angel Crush…Lucy Liu. She’s kinda awesome. 🙂

    1. And look at your sassy new photo! LOVE!!!

      Kate Beckinsale has nothin on YOU!

      1. Aw, thanks! It’s one of my souvenirs from Authors After Dark Savannah. 🙂

  10. For me, it would be Julianne Moore, Sandra Bullock, Olivia Newton-John and Maureen O’Hara (for the old movie crush) Cool line-up, though most are crushes my daughter might have had. Ooh, I forgot about Ali McGraw!

    1. Oh, and Barbra Streisand and Bette Midler!! The Rose was one of my favorite movies and songs.

    2. Ooh and I forgot Patrick O’Neil on the guys edition. He did NOT age well though.

      1. Yeah, he really didn’t…sad.

  11. Great list! I think the only one missing (for me) is Sandra Bullock.

    1. Like Love Potion No. 9 and now?! Goooood choice!

  12. I’ll admit it… I’ve always had a girl crush on Tiffani Amber Thiessen. And Jennie Garth.

Tell me a story...